VRBO Reviews

VRBO Reviews

Seaside Reunion

5 of 5

Magnolia Porch was the perfect vacation spot for our multi-generational family reunion. Our “foodies” loved the fully equipped, beautiful kitchen, our teens thought the hammock and rocking chairs on the porch were really “cool” as well as having the beach only a block away. And the toddlers liked having a back yard with lots of running around space. My husband and I, being the senior members of the family, appreciated having a first floor bed and bath. We have been renting houses in Cape May for over 30 years and this was, by far, the one we most enjoyed. Thank you, Ann, we hope to be back very soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We’re so happy you were able to enjoy our home. Magnolia Porch really is a pretty special place….a giant historic Colonial Revival built in 1895 but updated with new furniture; the latest technology (WiFi, Smart TVs, etc.); and kitchenware (huge new professional gas range, 2 Bosch dishwashers & 2 full sized stainless refrigerators, kitchen gadgets, etc). Comfortable inside and outside (biggest lawn on the block) and only a short block to the beach! Multigenerational groups and foodies are becoming our specialty. We are always updating something (it’s our passion!) and reviews like yours make it all worth it. Thanks for being our guests. Please come back and stay again.
 _______________________________________________
 Joyce M.
 ( Senior) “Girls Getaway”

 5 of 5

I come to Cape May several times a year and always for Restaurant Week. This year I came with 14 friends and spent 4nights in this Perfect Home, Perfect Location, and especially the Perfect Porch. The memories we created on that porch together will last forever. We are ALL ready to sign up for 2017. The owner was so wonderful to deal with. Ann, you have raised the standards so high, I will never be able to duplicate our stay any where else. This was off the charts. ….the very best !

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: You are so kind! Thank you for the review. We’re so happy that you make beautiful Cape May a regular destination and that you found our home. We spend lots of time on that Perfect Porch too and are delighted you had fun creating memories there with your friends! We’re glad you appreciate our attention to all of the details that make the Magnolia Porch a unique and special destination. Please come back again!
  _______________________________________________
  
Lake Placid Fan
Clifton Park, NY

Perfect week in the perfect home!

5 of 5

We have been coming to Cape May for 15 years. We started when we had kids in college since it was a good place to connect. Now we are going with our 3 kids, their spouses and our 7 grandchildren! We have stayed in several rental properties, sometimes for multiple years. Magnolia Porch is, by far, our favorite home. It does not feel like a rental property. It is comfortable and very tastefully decorated. There is plenty of room to spread out, even for a group of 15. The porch is awesome, which is always important to us since we spend a good deal of time out there. My 9 week old granddaughter loved the hammock! The kitchen is beautiful and has just about anything you need, including a griddle, which my son put to good use every morning when he made breakfast sandwiches for the group. It was really nice having the butler’s pantry, which includes a second refrigerator. There are so many wonderful touches. We loved the free umbrellas and the beach box was a much appreciated bonus as well. We knew within a day of our visit that we wanted to come back to Magnolia Porch next year and were very happy to book again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We can’t wait for our 2017 visit!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so pleased that you’ll be returning to the Magnolia Porch next summer to make even more memories with your grandchildren! It’s so nice to know that our guests appreciate the extra room that our giant covered porch provides…..hammock, swing, rockers, tables, etc. …..who could ask for anything more?! We think it’s pretty great and we’re glad you do too!!’
 
 _______________________________________________
  
Lynne R.
Magnolia Porch

 5 of 5

Exceptional home – impeccably appointed with everything one could want or need. We held a family reunion for 15 that included grandson 8 months old and great-grandmother 87. The house was perfect in every way! Ann and Marc are wonderful hosts and checked in with me on day one. Could not have had a better place or a more wonderful vacation. Thank you, Ann and Marc!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thank you for the kind review. We are so happy you were able to enjoy some beach time at the Magnolia Porch with four generations of your family! Wow, that is quite a tribute to all of you—so very important to carve out time for each other and so happy we could be your hosts. Our home makes hosting multi-generation groups effortless because of its size (7 bedrooms & 5 baths) and ‘creature comforts’ (central air conditioning and big TVs & sofas!) but especially because of all of the space in the ‘public areas’ of the home (giant dining and living rooms with high ceilings; enormous kitchen; ‘extra’ den; 1400 sq. ft wraparound porch!). Varying age ranges find our home particularly inviting too because of those all important first floor bedrooms. We loved chatting with you in the driveway as you were checking out and were happy to get a chance to meet ‘great grandmother’ who was gushing and seemed absolutely smitten with our location and our home…… just seeing that twinkle in her eye made my day! It’s an honor to share our home with families like yours. Please come visit again!
 
_______________________________________________ 
  
Gary L.

A New Adventure

 5 of 5

We arrived at Magnolia Porch on Saturday afternoon, after having a nice lunch by the beach with our family. The house is so spacious and tastefully decorated and just feels like home! The bedrooms and bathrooms were amazing not to mention the new kitchen and Butlers Pantry! The wrap around porch gave us many happy hours talking and playing games with the grandkids. There is plenty of room to either be together or be alone for a nap. The dining room accommodated all of us for easy dinners. The walk to the beach was short and easy for my 4 grandchildren via a beach wagon. We left our car in the driveway and walked everywhere. Magnolia Porch includes 2 Beach umbrellas set up and a beach box to put your beach supplies in overnight. All in all, Magnolia Porch is a delightful, spacious home to rent for a week, our entire family had a difficult time leaving Cape May and Magnolia Porch behind, but back to reality!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: We love to hear how people enjoy our beautiful historic home! Thanks so much for posting your comments. We are so glad you were able to spend some quality time with your family playing games and just sitting on our large breezy porch. Walks to the beach and everywhere for that matter (!) are so easy from our home…..park the car and forget about it! We’re delighted that you’ll be returning next summer to enjoy it all over again.
 
 _______________________________________________
 
Carla T.
 Wonderful house

 5 of 5

Our family of 14 stayed here for a reunion and celebration. It is hard to add to what the other reviewers have posted since I agree with all of them. This house is beautiful, spacious, and perfect for large groups. Because the house is large and the living area from den to kitchen flows so beautifully, and the porch is so large and well-furnished, no one was crowded. The dining room was a great fit for indoor meals and the porch was perfect for outdoor meals or hanging out. There is plenty of room for multiple cooks in the bright and open kitchen. We especially liked the extra refrigerator in the pantry. Our bed was comfortable and the room (upstairs) was quiet. I would definitely return to this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: We’re so glad you were able to stay with us this summer and thank you for the review. Our kitchen is our pride and joy and we do believe that ‘many hands make light work’! Creating meals and sharing laughs (and maybe some family recipes) in the kitchen is what brings our family together and I’m glad you had multiple cooks to help you too…with elbow room for everyone at the countertops, island, and second kitchen/pantry area! Glad you enjoyed the space…..no one ever says they feel crowded at the Magnolia Porch! Thank you again for the kind review. Please come back and see us again.
 
 _______________________________________________
  
K’s
Potomac, Maryland

A Wonderful Week at Magnolia Porch

 5 of 5

This lovely home couldn’t have a better location! We love that it’s only a block and a half from the beach, yet also a short walk to restaurants and shops. It has been a gathering place annually for our family since 1998; my, how it has changed since then! We are very appreciative of the FREE beach umbrellas and that they were set up every day when we got to the beach. The wraparound porch is fantastic and encourages outdoor eating and socializing. The kids love the hammock and the chess/checkerboard. We also like the clean outdoor showers. The inside of the house is beautifully decorated, yet comfortable and inviting. The kitchen is user-friendly and well-stocked with dishes and cooking utensils and we love that it opens into the living room. The pictures in the kitchen drawers are very helpful in returning things to where they belong. The house, as always, was well maintained, clean and comfortable. We are very impressed by all the great things you have added. We love Magnolia Porch and are so thankful that we are blessed to return every year. We can think of no better place to come together to strengthen family bonds and to enjoy all that the Cape has to offer. So…a big thank-you for all you have done to make this just the perfect place for our annual family reunion.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. Seems this grand historic home was built with families like yours in mind and we feel honored that Magnolia Porch has become a part of your family’s tradition…..for 18 summers now! Wow! We know that your children and grandchildren gather here annually from other (far away) parts of the country and we are so glad they can all be comfortable when they return to our home. Thanks so much for noticing all of our updates. We are constantly in search of simple, useful, and beautiful additions that will enhance the experience at our home. in addition to the recent major updates like the kitchen and new rooms at the back of the house, we are always adding new bedding and furniture, changing out curtains, or adding a few new kitchen items. It is an honor and pleasure to welcome families and friends near and far so that they may gather and make memories together here by the sea. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer and thank you again for the review!
 
_______________________________________________ 
  
Mary B.
 Loved this house

 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our multi-generation family. Loved the kitchen, huge porch, interesting decor. Ann is very helpful, quick to respond, very easy to deal with. Wish we were still there!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thanks so much for staying with us. Please come back and visit again! There’s always a lot going on in Cape May….especially during the summer months with weekly movies on the beach; band performances; food festivals; and farmers markets all in full swing. Jefferson Street beach (only a block away) is the definition of relaxation with white sand and gentle breezes….it’s so beautiful in fact that it’s even pictured on Cape May’s salt water taffy boxes! We’re so glad you were able to enjoy this special time with your family.
 _______________________________________________
  
Anonymous
Annapolis

Perfect spot for the extended family!

5 of 5

We needed a nice central place to meet for dad’s 80th birthday celebration, and we’re so glad we picked Cape May, even more that we found Magnolia Porch!! Beautiful without stuffiness, comfortably elegant, great family feel! Loved being able to take short walks to the beach, even if the weather didn’t welcome a long excursion.

The acoustics were nice, and we filled the house with joyful music.

We got an excellent group photo on the porch before we left, and we’ll treasure that with our memories of a perfect weekend.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner’s Response: Thanks so much for your thoughtful review! We do love sharing our home with families like yours. So nice that everyone had room to spread out and play some music together. Our home was once a dance studio so we’re sure that many music filled nights have been spent here. When you come back in the warmer months you’ll see that our ridiculously large porch is like having another home to enjoy! The yard is also super-sized since we are on a double wide lot…..lots of sunny space for the whole family to enjoy after a day on the beach. Come back and visit again soon!
_______________________________________________ 
  
carol r.
 Great Holiday Stay in Cape May

 5 of 5

Our family group of 16 including 8 Adults and 8 Children enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at The Magnolia Porch over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The location was amazing and ideal for a quick walk to the beach as well as being very accessible to the lovely town. From the time we first pulled up to this great facility until we departed we were totally impressed with the charm and and functionality of this wonderful home. The incredible front porch as well as all of the interior amenities made our stay comfortable and memorable.

All of the living areas are supersized and the beautiful new kitchen with adjacent pantry and oversized dining room made our Thanksgiving Feast one to remember. The Bedrooms and Baths were similarly suited to our large group.

We are SOOO Happy that we chose The Magnolia Porch for our Holiday Destination! We simply could not have enjoyed ourselves more!!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
 _______________________________________________
  
Jennifer B.
 Thanksgiving Memories @ Magnolia Porch

 5 of 5

What a memorable Thanksgiving we had at Magnolia Porch! Our family chose Cape May as a gathering point from Upstate NY, Michigan, Delaware and Baltimore. After sifting through other rentals in Cape May, we realized that this was a gem. Most of the older homes that looked charming on the outside had dated, tired interiors. Magnolia Porch has it all! The interior of the house is tastefully decorated and inviting. As soon as we opened the door we said – ooooohhhhhh! We loved being able to enjoy the charm of an older home with all the comforts of an updated interior. A unique and happy combination! The new kitchen, butler’s pantry and two fridges were perfect for dinner preparation, as was the large dining room to seat all 16 people comfortably. The kids spent hours playing Monopoly at the table one day. We particularly enjoyed the location of Magnolia Porch. So close to the beach (a short block), the promenade and town! If you enjoy walking, you will be very happy because you can access everything easily on foot. Ann promptly answered any questions I had and she kindly sent me detailed information about activities and events happening in Cape May during our visit. This was truly a weekend we will all remember fondly for a long time. Thank you to Ann and Marc for sharing your lovely home with us!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
 _______________________________________________
  
Bonnie
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania

Priceless time with family and friends!

 5 of 5

A long weekend in December was just what our family needed to rejuvenate, relax and enjoy being together! Magnolia Porch more than exceeded our expectations and needs. We loved cooking together in the modern and spacious kitchen, and then relaxing and eating together in the beautiful dining room. A short walk to the beach found us playing soccer, running in the surf, digging in the sand and jumping off of sand dunes. From the grandparents right down to the one year old, we loved sleeping in quiet, cozy rooms, and then waking up to the smell of fresh coffee brewing in the kitchen.

We found ourselves taking the short walk to town, admiring the picturesque houses along the way. Then, we’d come back to Magnolia Porch and declare to each other that we truly had the best house in Cape May! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Owner’s Response: Thank so much for the kind words. We’re so glad you were able to share some time in Cape May with the special people in your lives! We never tire of hearing how folks spend their time here. This home is a treasure and we feel that it’s the best in Cape May too! Room enough for everyone and effortless because of its location and modern livability. There really is a lot to do in this wonderful historic town at any time of the year…….how lucky you were being able to get to enjoy the beach in December! Our weather tends to remain milder than the rest of the New Jersey beaches due to Cape May’s location at the very southern tip of the state. Don’t forget the bird watching opportunities year round here too……there is a state bird sanctuary right in Cape May near the lighthouse and lots of birds (and butterflies!) use our town as a resting point along their migration route. Come back and visit us again soon……any time of the year!

_______________________________________________

Please click on our Check Availability page, or click here.

Please click on our Contact Page or click here to click here to ask us a question.